Texas folks who are fans of any kind of underground electronic/dance music, whether it be house, techno, broken beat, drum and bass or whatever, should already know the name Merrick Brown. Merrick, now a Chicago-based designer, DJ, artist, photographer, producer and recent daddy (phew!), is a legend of the Austin electronic music scene. He was instrumental in bringing cutting edge music to the city, both as a promoter and DJ at various club nights, and through records released by the labels he created and ran, Chalant Music and Teklite Recordings.

I spun with Merrick a few times at Get Broke, his pioneering weekly club night in Austin that brought a remarkable array of creative, forward-thinking dance music to the city during an impressive five-year run. Merrick (and Tyler and Wil) really made me feel at home, and I look back at those gigs as some of the most fun and enjoyable that I’ve ever done.

Way back in 2005, Merrick and Tyler invited me to spin with them at the Get Broke three-year anniversary, and I remember Merrick telling me that night that he was really getting into Dubstep and had been spinning it more and more. So, I was delighted to see that he posted a recording of a live Dubstep clash he did recently with Timid at Bass Goes Boom, Chicago’s first all-Dubstep monthly. Check it out below:

[audio:http://audio.merrickbrown.net/Timid_b2b_MerrickBrown_2009-04-03@BassGoesBoom.mp3|titles=Merrick Brown vs. Timid – Live @ Bass Goes Boom – 04.03.2009]
¬ DOWNLOAD IT HERE (right-click and save as)

Here’s the tracklist:

1. Reso & I.D – Torvus
2. Helixir – Narcotik Dub
3. Basic Channel – Phylyps Trak 2.2
4. Shed – Another Wedged Chicken
5. Pangaea – Mosaix
6. Taz Buckfaster – Marmalade
7. XI – Unfair
8. Ike Release – Modern Mythology
9. Kid Cudi – Day and Night (Widdler’s Dubstep Remix)
10. Caprice – Look Back
11. Martyn – Right? Star!
12. Sully – Heartbeat
13. DJ 2000F – You Don’t Know What Love Is
14. Flying Lotus – RobertaFlack (Martyn’s Heartbeat Mix)
15. Loefah – Root
16. Peverelist – Clunk Click Every Trip
17. Reso – Spooky
18. Elemental – Raw Material
19. DLX – Extinction
20. Emalkay – Explicit
21. Ike Release – Jenova
22. Kode 9 – Black Sun
23. Moderat – No. 22
24. 2562 – Kontrol
25. Coleco – That Feeling
26. Ike Release – Motor City Lights
27. Synkro – Don’t Know
28. TRG – Move Dis
29. Helixir – Helicraft
30. Technician – Get it Boyz
31. Zomby – Aquafresh
32. Joker – Digidesign
33. 12th Planet – Ptera Patrick
34. Skream & Cluekid – Sandsnake
35. Reso & I.D – Engram
36. F – The Untitled Dub
37. Ike Release – Modern Mythology
38. XI – Come Back VIP
39. Snoop Dogg – Sexual Seduction (Chimpo Remix)
40. The Specials – Ghost Town (DJG Bootleg)
41. Hektagon – Running Through (Elemental Remix)
42. DLX – Matter of Fact
43. Harmonic 313 – Dirtbox

You can follow Merrick on Twitter to keep up with his latest activities. He also still has tons of audio (dating back NINE freakin’ years) available for download from his archives. (There’s even a couple of Lil Tiger live mixes buried in there.)

Also, if you dig on Dubstep, check out DJ Suma’s LuvSIK mix that we posted earlier this week.